Australia Limit India to 160-8 in 5th T20
Australia Featured General News Global News India News Sports

Australia Limit India to 160-8 in 5th T20

Fast bowlers Jason Behrendorff and Ben Dwarshuis took two wickets each as Australia kept India down to 160-8 in the fifth and final Twenty20 international on Sunday.

India, who won the previous match for an unbeatable 3-1 lead in the five-match series, lost regular wickets after being put into bat first before Shreyas Iyer smashed 53 off 37 balls to lift the total in Bengaluru.

Fast bowler Aaron Hardie (1-21) and leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha (1-26) bowled disciplined line and lengths on a sluggish pitch.

With rain in the air and a slight drizzle in the evening, opener Yashasvi Jaiswal attacked but Behrendorff, a left-arm quick, cut short the left-hand batsman’s stay on 21.

Dwarshuis, also a left-arm pace bowler, then sent back Ruturaj Gaikwad, for 10, and captain Suryakumar Yadav, for five, and soon India slipped to 55-4 after Rinku Singh departed.

Iyer put on fighting partnerships of 42 with Jitesh Sharma, who made 24, and 46 with Axar Patel, who hit back with 31 from 21 balls.

Source : France 24